Association of Teachers of Mathematics in Maine
  • Home
  • Jacqueline Mitchell Award

Jacqueline Mitchell Mathematics Educator Award

In 1999, ATOMIM presented Jackie Mitchell with the Jacqueline Mitchell Mathematics Educator Award.  The award is given annually to an outstanding mathematics educator who demonstrates a commitment to Maine’s mathematical community through dedicated service. 

The following is an excerpt from Jackie’s 1999 award:

"ATOMIM salutes Jacqueline Mitchell for her outstanding contributions to mathematics in the State of Maine by honoring her with this annual award established in her name.   Jackie is currently a mathematics consultant for the State of Maine in the Department of Education.  Mrs. Mitchell received her undergraduate and graduate degrees from the University of  Maine. She has been a classroom  teacher, a mathematics specialist and consultant, a mathematics director and the acting director of the State of Maine Division of Instruction.

"Jackie’s leadership roles have included:  President of ATOMIM, President of ATMNE, Regional Services Northeast Director for NCTM and Northeast Director for the National Council of Supervisors of Mathematics.

"Other awards bestowed on Mrs. Mitchell were Balomenos Lecturer of ATMNE, the Presidential Awards Leadership Award, and the Phoenix Award for outstanding contributions to Maine Economic Development. "As we march into the next millennium, we applaud Jackie’s efforts to help the State of Maine build a mathematically empowered population."

At the 2011 ATMNE Fall Conference, Jackie was awarded the Father Stanley J. Bezuszka Award for her countless contributions to mathematics education. This is ATMNE's highest honor.


1999 Jacqueline Mitchell     (inaugural year)
2000 Marshalyn Baker
2001 Barbara Caron
2002 David Heckman
2003 Ellen Greeke
2005 David Galli 
2006 Cynthia Hillman-Forbush
2007 Paula Hodgkins
2008 Shawn Towle
2009 Karen Choate
2010 Tad Johnston
2011 Pamela Rawson
2012 Jenny Jorgensen
2013 Marilyn Curtis
2014 Donna Hardt
2015 Michele Mailhot
2016 Cheryl Rose-Tobey
2017 Margaret Griswold

2018 Robert Jenkins

2019 Peggy Brown

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software